CHINESE WORKERS IN NIGERIA, FOREIGN COMAPNIES IN NIGERIA, NIGERIA FOREIGN POLICY, NIGERIANS PLIGHT IN CHINESE COMPANIES

WHAT A PITY: PLIGHT OF NIGERIANS IN THE HANDS OF CHINESE COMPANIES IN THEIR OWN FATHERLAND

Good day All, I have an issue with a Chinese- owned FMCG manufacturing company that is based in Agege, Lagos.

I was employed February this year as an Area Sales Manager and my job function was to recruit Distributors – Business people who buy in bulk purchases and resell to Sub-distributors, Wholesalers and retailers as the case may be.

Although faced with the challenges of :

– No support sales team like Sales executive, Merchandisers etc (Though they promised to provide)
– No mobility tool move around an Area covering 3 states in the south west.
– No support in form of Marketing and promotions.

As a career person who has over 6 years experience in the same position in other companies in the past, I gave in my best and in no time started getting sales from my location.

Suddenly during the 1st week of August I got a call to appear at the Head Office and was told I’ve been relieved of my services because I didn’t perform as expected by management. Shocking as it is, and coupled with the fact that records proved otherwise, I agreed to move since it’s not my father’s company.

BUT my salary of July was not paid up till now (Almost 1 month), despite the fact that I surpassed my target and did 117%- well above my target in the month of July.

I have done ALL the necessary clearance – which are releasing all company’s property in my possession and the company’s staff (National Sales Manager and Regional Managers) have confirmed that I do not owe any customer /Distributor any KOBO.

I have been calling the HR Manager, the NSM and Regional Manager for weeks and all they are playing me like I’m kid.

I believe this is an infringement on my Human rights as I have a lot of financial challenges; I have a young family to take care, I have to move on with my career and so on.

The delay has made me lose my intention of applying for an MBA I wanted to apply for as deadline for application is passed and I’ve been exposed to terrible conditions and situations that have financial links.

I hereby appeal to all Human Right activists, Labour union activists, human right lawyers and the general public[b] to advice me[/b] on what steps to take because I suspect FOUL PLAY by the management of this company.

I believe there are lots of Nigerian youths who have also been mistreated by these foreign companies and it’s time we put an end to it.